Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16011

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/12/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Jason Carter of Orange Park, FL USA asks...

When can the goalie pick up the ball? I know that if a player on the same team kicks the ball intentionally to the goalie that he cannot pick up the ball. If a player heads it or does a throw in to their goalie....can he pick it up?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Paragraph 12.20 and 12.21 of Advice to Referees WILL explain this in no uncertain terms when it is published in the fall. I am not permitted to quote exactly how it will read because it is, as yet an unpublished, copyrighted document. Suffice to say it will read sort of like this:

The goalkeeper may always handle the ball inside his own penalty area unless he:

* Takes more than 6 seconds while controlling the ball with his/her hands before releasing it from possession

* Regains hand control prior to a touch by another player

* Touches ball with the hands after it comes directly from a throw-in or deliberate kick to the goalkeeper by a teammate

The restart for any of these infringements is an indirect free kick*.

I offer this sort of quote because that is what I wrote to the committee revising ATR and until the date it is published it remains my intellectual property.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Jason, this should have been covered in your certification course. If a teammate of the keeper kicks the ball with his foot to the keeper, to a place where the keeper can collect it, or uses his feet to stop a ball and leave it for the keeper, the keeper may not handle the ball legally. Any other part of the anatomy that is legal may be used and the keeper may handle the ball inside the penalty area. However, if a teammate tries to circumvent the Law by kicking the ball up to his head and then heading the ball to his keeper, the temmate is cautioned and shown the yellow card whether or not the keeper subsequently handles the ball. A keeper also may not legally handle the ball inside his own penalty area if he receives a ball thrown-in by a teammate before it has touched another player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16011
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>