Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16034

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/14/2007

brad l. of seattle, usa asks...

im watchen the f.i.f.a u20 czech republic vs spain game and the czech player kicked the ball down field n' the goalie went outside his box brought it back into to da box with his feet then piked it up in da box

you cant do dis rite?!?!

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

I assume an opponent kicked the ball to the keeper who collected it outside the penalty area, used his feet to move it into his penalty area where he deliberately handled it. The keeper may do this. You are penalised two years of not yelling at referees because you didn't know this fact.



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Jon Sommer

It's amazing what you think you know and don't, isn't it?? Next time you are about to shout at a referee for a decision he makes think...maybe it is YOU that is wrong and not the referee!



Read other questions answered by Referee Jon Sommer

View Referee Jon Sommer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Of COURSE it's legal for the keeper to go outside his penalty area to collect a ball played by the opponents, dribble it back into his penalty area and subsequently handle the ball. Why wouldn't it be legal?



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes you can! There is nothing wrong with it provided ball was not kicked to keeper deliberatly by a teammate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16034
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>