Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16051

Law 14 - Penalty kick 7/16/2007

RE: U12 A Under 13

Don Gallant of montreal, Quebec Canada asks...

In a recent match the opposing team was awarded a penalty kick. The kicker took his shot and our keeper deflected the ball up and it rebounded off the crossbar and back to the penalty kicker without touching anyone else. He had fallen and was allowed to play the ball while down and proceeded to score...Is this a legal play, as the rebound was directly off the crossbar and only indirectly from the keeper?

Answer provided by Referee Nathan Lacy

Once the ball has been played by ANY other player on the field then it is "free game" and the kicker can once again play the ball. GOAL - I regret to say for you. All the best,



Read other questions answered by Referee Nathan Lacy

View Referee Nathan Lacy profile

Answer provided by Referee Jon Sommer

It only has to touch a player for the kicker to be able to touch the ball again. The keeper saved the ball onto he bar and the kicker then has every right to score. Goal



Read other questions answered by Referee Jon Sommer

View Referee Jon Sommer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

This is ok because the keeper touched the ball before it hit the cross bar. Thus any player may now play the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Law 14 says if "The kicker touches the ball a second time (except with his hands) before it has touched another player:
* an indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team, the kick to be taken from the place where the infringement occurred"

The goalkeeper is a player, and the ball touched the keeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Coach you state your keeper deflected the shot! For him to accomplish that feat he must touch the ball. Your keeper is another player. The kicker may not touch the ball again until it touches another player.

The referee has allowed play to continue and allowed a goal to be won in accordance with the Law.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16051
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>