- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16068Law 11 - Offside 7/19/2007RE: 3 Adult Colin Ellis of Regina, Saskatchewan Canada asks...By definition, you cannot be offside in your own half of the field. What constitutes being in your own half? If a player has a foot in each half of the field, straddling the centerline, is this player in an offside position? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol The definition for offside position with respect to the center line would be the same as those for position with respect to an opponent. If any portion of the body which the player can legally use to play the ball is in the opponent's half, offside considerations would apply. So for example if your head, nose, tailbone, big toe or kneecap is across the line, you can't get involved in play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer In a class I ask my students if they would recognize Pamela Anderson. They always say yes... Then I continue with DID you know she had a twin brother, Rock Anderson?
Right picture the two standing on the halfway line. Both are exactly on the line but Rock's chest is not past the edge of the line, he is in his own half. Think about Pamela in exactly the same position, can she score a goal with those? The boys/men usually smile first...
Those over the line put her in an offside psoition.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney As long as the only part of you over the halfway line is your arms then you are in your half of the field! But that would look kind of silly, so recommend keeping all of you, whether you are Pamela or Fabio on or behind the halfway line.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Colin, any legal playable body part on the opponents side of the 5 inch centre line could be recognized as offside positioned. In your case one leg, comprised of thigh, knee, foot and 5 toes, one side of the head includes ear, 1/2 the chest/torso (no arm, elbow, hand or finger is included). It may seem flimsy but in a static position you can determine if so much as a big toe is closer to the opposing goal line and there is no 2nd last opponent or ball to consider, if it was CLEAR you are correct to raise the flag for offside if involvement occurs. Know in a dynamic position with players at the dead run going past each other in opposite directions you will never get that clarity. The ole adage, " When in doubt do not wave it about!", still applies. In your scenario though there is no doubt! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller The closest part of the body that can legally play the ball (not hands) is used. If that body part is completly over the line, then that player is on attacking half of the field.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Steve Montanino You can be in both halves simultaneously. It matters not if you are in your own half, what matters is if you're within the opponents half. If you are and you're in an offside position at the moment a ball is touched by a teammate - then you cannot get involved.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16068
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|