- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16077Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/20/2007RE: rec Adult mike of hatboro, pa asks...When do you consider the goalie to be in possession of the ball so that an opposing player can not still legally challenge for the ball. For example, goalie is stretched out in front of the net with one hand on top of the ball away from thier body, are they in possession? Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller It takes 1 finger with control of the ball to be considered possession. In the situation you describe, I would say that the keeper has possession. It is hard to say for sure without seeing it live though.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Law 12, International FA Board Decision 2
The goalkeeper is considered to be in control of the ball by touching it with any part of his hand or arms. Possession of the ball includes the goalkeeper deliberately parrying the ball, but does not include the circumstances where, in the opinion of the referee, the ball rebounds accidentally from the goalkeeper, for example after he has made a save.
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16077
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|