Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16125

Law 14 - Penalty kick 7/26/2007

RE: Pro Adult

Hosam Salem of Alexandria, Alexandria Egypt asks...

Dear Sir,

My question is whether the following scenario is valid in soccer or not?

If a player shot a penalty, hit the post, then come back to the player, without touching any of the opponent players.

Should it be a foul on the player shooting the penalty?

As it is the case with any foul, that another player must touch the ball after the first player shot it.

Thanks in advance for your prompt reply.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Playing the rebound off the goalpost is not a foul per se, but it is an infraction against Law 14. You are correct, that at any restart (*) the ball must touch another player before the person taking the restart can touch it again. The goalpost is not a player, so if the ball rebounds directly to the penalty kicker and he touches it, the restart is an indirect free kick to the opponents at the spot of the second touch.

(*) Note that a dropped ball is special. None of the players put the ball into play - rather it is in play when it touches the ground. Therefore there is no second-touch restriction on the first person to touch the ball after it is in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

The restart in the scenario you described should be an indirect free kick to the opposing side. A player may not touch the ball as second time after taking a penalty kick until it has been touched by another player.

This is also true of many other free kick style restarts and throw-ins. The only one that doesn't meet this requirement is a dropped ball.

Two nights ago I refereed a match in which a player took a corner kick, the ball struck the post, and rebounded all the way back to the person who took the corner kick who stuck it a second time. I gave the IFK here for the reasons outlined above.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If it is a penalty kick, then it is an infraction for a 2nd touch. It is IFK for opponents at spot of touch. This is NOT a foul but an infringement of the law on penalty kicks.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16125
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>