Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16151

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/28/2007

RE: Rec,FIFA,High School Adult

Larry Meadows of Rockbridge, Oh USA asks...

Can the ball be kneed or thighed back to the keeper by a teammate? I know it can be headed/chested back but I cannot find verbage otherwise.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Larry,
any legal body part can be used to knock a ball to the keeper, only if it was deliberately kicked to the keeper is the keeper restricted from the use of his hands. As a player I have used the back of my calf , my knee, my butt, my back, my thigh, in certain tense situations often where having fallen on the ground it was the only way to play the ball away from an opponent.

A player is ONLY restricted if he tries to circumvent the laws by formulating a weasley plan to crouch down when no one is near and then knock it to the keeper with his knee or flip a ball up to his head or thigh with his foot then direct the ball back to the keeper. Then the INDFK occurs from what the player DID NOT the keeper picking up the ball with his hands
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino


It can be kicked headed kneed anyway but with the hand or arm. There's no foul involved in any of these actions. However, if the ball is deliberately kicked with the foot to the keeper or to an area the kepper may collect the ball the keeper may not subsequently legally handle the ball inside his own penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Another way it can get to your goal tender is if it hits your hand or arm and rebounds to him either in the air or on the ground. The thing you can't do is what it says in International FA Board Decision 3 of Law 12.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16151
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>