Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16163

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 7/30/2007

RE: rec Under 14

Myriam Alize of Elmvale, Ontario Canada asks...

Can a goalie bounce the ball on the 18 yards before kicking it?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Yes. As a matter of fact, as lonf as he releases the ball from his hands without crossing the 18 yard line he may bounce the ball OUTSIDE of the 18 yard line before kicking it



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes. The goalkeeper is considered to remain in possession of the ball while she is bouncing it or tossing it in the air. Opponents may not challenge for the ball while it remains in her possession, not even on the bounce.

Keepers used to do this to get around the old 4-step rule, which was replaced by 6-seconds 10 years ago. Back in the old days FIFA/IFAB recognized that keepers were extending their travel by bouncing the ball, so they made bouncing a part of continuous possession.

Nowdays keepers just bounce the ball out of habit or superstition. It's similar to the basketball player who bounces the ball a couple of times before taking the free-throw shot.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yes...that is not considered releasing it from possession.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16163
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>