Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16199

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/3/2007

RE: Competive Adult

Nathanael Vitalis of Center City, MN USA asks...

This question is a follow up to question 15085

I am a rookie referee this year. I have not been able to get a definitive answer to my question regarding Indirect Free Kicks (IFK). [15085]

My question is: On an IFK, does the player that first touches/kicks the ball have to actually make it move from position A to position B?

This question comes from the old 'tap and kick' method of trying to score in an IFK.

We are divided in our little referee circle on whether the first player could simple tap the ball. Some say yes, because it has no effect. Others, including myself say no, because we/I interrupt Law 13 to state that the first player that touches/kicks the ball must actually make it move.

The game situation would be: team A has been awarded an IFK; 2 players do a 'tap and kick'; my interpretation of Law 13 says: stop play due to incorrect execution of an IFK=ball has not entered play; to restart play: team A re-kicks the IFK.

Would really appreciate a specific and definitive answer to this admittedly picky dissection of Law 13.

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

The ball must be struck with a "kicking motion" and also it must move in some direction to be considered in play. It is up to the referee to determine if this has occurred based upon what he has seen happen.

Generally speaking, we do not consider a "tap" a kicking motion, But that isn't to say that this could never happen.

If you consider that the first touch on the ball has properly put the ball into play, then you should lower your hand on the subsequent kick of the ball. If you do not consider this to have happened you should leave your hand up after the subsequent kick and await it going out of play or touching another player before you lower your arm.

Now to your scenario, sadly your solution is lacking. If you have decided that the initial "tap" did not meet the laws requirements to be in play, then the ball is just that. If the ball is next kicked properly into play, what reason do you have to stop play and allow the kick to be retaken? Instead, all you have to do is consider the ball has now been properly put into play and that you recognize it must be touched by another player before a goal may be legally scored (you are still signaling with a rasied hand).



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

You would be right. While tap and move was okay for a short time, it is no longer. Now, the ball must be kicked and moved, meaning with the foot in a kicking motion. It may be a minimal movement, but as long as it is kicked and then moves, the restart has been accomplished. That's true for all free kick restarts - direct and indirect - kicked and moved. The new USSF Advice to Referees, due out soon, and the older version as well, both address this issue, which is considered authoritative. 13.5 BALL IN PLAY
The ball is in play (able to be played by an attacker other than the kicker or by an opponent) when it
has been kicked and moved. The distance to be moved is minimal and the "kick" need only be a touch
of the ball with the foot in a kicking motion. Simply tapping the top of the ball with the foot or
stepping on the ball are not sufficient.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

It is unfortunate Nathanael that "We are divided in our little referee circle" because the decision has been made for us by the policy statement in Advice to Referees, 13.5. ALL referees within US Soccer are bound to referee in accordance with the policy as defined in its publications. As my colleagues have said kicked and moved means what it says, kicked with a licking motion and moved from here to there. The old stomp and wiggle just ain't what's needed. Where this myth came from is a mystery to me, and others.

Suffice to say, kick and move puts the ball into play, stomp and wiggle is a prelude to putting it into play. You're going to have a player stomp and wiggle the ball and another dribble it away. When he touches it a second time and you blow for a second touch be prepared to dispel a myth because there WILL be screaming and yelling from those who think they know. Deal with that too!

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Yeah the ball must actually move from position A to position B. Advice to Referees clearly states that Stomping on the ball or rolling the ball is NOT a kick. How many players do you see do this on a kickoff? Quite a few! Referees need to bite the bullet on this so that it is done correctly worldwide.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16199
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...

See Question: 16255

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>