Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16203

Law 13 - Free Kicks 8/4/2007

RE: High School Varsity Soccer High School

James Hart of Oakland, MD USA asks...

The referee has awarded Team B a free kick just outside its own penalty area. B1 takes the free kick and passes back to the goalkeeper, who misplays the pass and has the ball carom off his foot and into the goal.
Does the referee award the goal? What is the restart? I know that a corner kick is awarded to the opposing team if it goes directly into the goal but in this case the player has deliberately played it back to goalie who has the ball carom off his foot.

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Goal. The referee must award it becuase the ball has not been directly kicked into the players own goal. The moment the keeper touched it that little "cya" clause went right out the window.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Consider the attacking team gets an IFK near the goal. They blast it right straight toward the net. If it goes in untouched, no goal. But wait - the keeper instinctively reaches out to make a save, and only manages to brush the ball with her fingertips. The ball touched another player - goal counts!

The decision is the same when the keeper's teammate takes the kick. Any touch is enough to make a ball "non-direct".



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The referee should allow the goal because the ball has touched another player it has not gone directly into the kicker's own goal.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

This was not kicked directly into goal as it touched another player. Thus restart is a kickoff as a goal has been scored.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Unless US High SChool Soccer has some strange rule ( they have MANY) this is a goal



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16203
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>