- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16215Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/5/2007RE: rec and competitive Under 16 Dean Burgess of chicopee, ma usa asks...Goalkeeper makes a save, carries the ball to the 18, throws the ball up in the air prior to kicking the ball and then kicks it. While the ball is in the air prior to the kick an attacker from the other team runs up and jumps to block the kick without crossing the 18, but right at the 18.
Is there a foul occurring? Could this be a foul preventing the release of the ball from the goalkeeper? I am confused on this technicality because I have read in other q and a's that the goalkeeper is in possession while tossing the ball up until the ball is released. Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino In this case the referee should stop play and award and Indirect Free kick to the goalkeeper's team because the opponent has unfairly interefered with the keeper's release of the ball in to play.
The goalkeeper is deemed to have and posession whilst bouncing or throwing the ball up into the air and catching it. In this case the act of throwing the ball up into the air does not relinquish possesion. Instead, the goalkeeper may punt the ball unhindered.
I would argue that the ball is in play the moment it hits the ground AND it is clear that keeper has actually put the ball into play. As for me, if the keeper goes to take a drop-kick they should also be permitted this action unhindered the fact that the ball has hit the ground for a short second before it will be struck does not allow a defender to come running up to block the kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer This has never been acceptable in Football. It is something drawn from the immense base of knowledge possessed by newer coaches and players. Once someone has been around The Game for a while, one learns...
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney There was a dust-up about this very issue a couple of years ago when FIFA published an answer in the Q&A which made it sound like an attacker could play the ball in between the moment the ball left the keeper's hand and the time it hit the ground before the keeper kicked it, but thankfully that was considered a mistake and dropped! Any attacker who tries that kind of shenanigan needs to have his head screwed back on straight by the referee promptly. It is not only dangerous, but if ignored by the referee, the defensive team will "make sure" their keeper is protected, which means the players have lost any faith in the ref's ability to protect the players and control the match. Not good.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Jon Sommer You may have seen in the past referees allowing this, but since the laws were changed to the goalkeeper having just 6 seconds to release the ball, we are now very tight in that the goalkeeper must be allowed to release the ball. You are right in saying we view the throw up prior to a kick as still the 'keeper's possession therefore you will award an Indirect freekick.
Regards
Read other questions answered by Referee Jon Sommer
View Referee Jon Sommer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16215
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 16258
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|