- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16220Law 11 - Offside 8/5/2007RE: rec Under 12 joe of scs, usa asks...Forward on A Team is in the offside position, as the defence on B Team is moving the ball downfield. A player from the A team takes the ball away, kicks it and hits the B team player, in which the ball gets to the player who is in the offside position. Would he still be offside even that the ball was deflected ?
Thank You Joe Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Taking you at your word that the ball was deflected off opponent B, this would be an offside offense if he plays the ball or otherwise interferes with play. Only control by an opponent can reset offside in this situation. A mere deflection will not do it. I'd also say that what constitutes "control" will differ among referees.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson . Hi Joe, a DEFLECTION of the ball off a defending opponent will NOT change the offside phase of play that WAS in effect for the attacking team which last touched or played that ball before the deflection.
What is interesting is the deflection is a reset of offside position for that player's teams which just had the deflection of the ball go off of him as it is classified as a last touch or play of the ball albeit uncontrolled.
In point of fact this deflection has rest offside position for his team while leaving the other team offside positions unchanged. What this means is for a brief time both teams could have offside positioned players which cannot participate in active play at the same time!! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16220
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|