Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16278

Law 11 - Offside 8/11/2007

RE: rec Adult

m. anders of calgary, alberta canada asks...

This question is a follow up to question 16234

if a keeper misplays the ball (tries to drop kick but fluffs it) and the opposing team has two players in the box, 1 of whom intercepts, are either of them offside? If one then passes to the other, who is ahead of the ball, are either offside.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Immediately after the goalkeeper releases the ball, neither opponent is offside as the ball was not last played/touched by a teammate.

Once one of the players intercepts the ball, the other one could be in an offside position depending on where he was at the time of his teammate's last touch. You mention him being ahead of the ball, but don't mention whether or not there were other defenders (beside the embarrassed keeper) who would define the offside-position line.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi M Anders,

If the keeper errors, the nearby lucky opponent has a gift.
Even if the two teammates were offside positioned there is no restriction of involvement because the ball was last controled and played by the opponent aka the keeper!

Now once the lucky opponent touches/plays the ball although he is ok, his teammate is where in relationship to the goal line and the second last defender or the ball? If he is further away then the ball from the opposing goal line at the team mates interception he cannot be offside at that point.

While the team mate could be offside depending on where he is at the player's interception touch of the ball it is not an offence to be offside unless you involve yourself in active play! So a shot and the offside team mates dives out of the way could be a good goal but a shot or pass where the offside positioned team mate involves himself in play could turn the keeper gift into an attacking gift and an INDFK loss of possession.

Remember though players move about as the ball moves so what looks like something might not be the way it was originally.

Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16278
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>