- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16335Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/16/2007RE: Amateur club level Under 13 Terry Allen of Coffs Harbour, NSW Australia asks...re: Goalkeepers committing handball.
A goalkeeper is racing to get a loose ball before it goes out of his penalty box. He grabs the ball just in time but his momentum carries him over the line (ie outside the 18yrd box).
However, being a clever goaly, he holds the ball in a position where it can be seen as still clearly within the 18 yrd box. His feet may have stepped over the line, but the ball always remained inside the box.
Is this still handball? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Despite Law 12 being worded somewhat ambiguously ("except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area"), what matters is not the position of the player but the position of the ball. If the ball is inside the penalty area, even by the slightest portion of the ball obscuring the slightest portion of the line, then the goalkeeper is free to handle the ball. She just has to be sure that when she next moves that she keeps the ball inside the PA.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No! You should know that it is always the position of the ball that matters and not the feet or the legs. Since the ball has not left the penalty area, there is not foul.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Law 12 means that the keeper can NEVER be guilty of deliberately handling the ball if the ball is within his own penalty area. It's all about the position of the ball, not the keeper.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16335
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|