Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16395

Law 11 - Offside 8/22/2007

RE: Rec Under 15

John Mccullough of Shelton, WA USA asks...

inially on a throw in or corner kick there is no offsides

when can offsides be called

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Offside considerations begin once the play is no longer direct from a corner kick, goal kick or throw-in.

The player takes the restart. Another player touches the ball. Now offside begins again. Any teammate of that second player to touch the ball who is in an offside position at the time of the touch is prohibited from becoming involved in play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

As there can be no offside violation directly from a throw-in, corner kick, or goal kick, a player may be considered for a violation of law 11 the moment after the ball is put into play when a teammate of a player in an offside position touches the ball.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The referee begins to watch attackers in offside positions when the ball is touched by an attacker. Before that touch there can be no offside offence because Law 11 says "A player in an offside position is only penalised if, at the moment the ball touches or or is played by one of his own team,..."

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16395
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>