- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16398Law 15 - Throw In 8/22/2007RE: Comp Under 13 ryan roberts of Bedford, IN US asks...On a throw in the player throws the ball into play and the defender heads the ball directly to the player who has just thrown the ball into play. the player catches the ball and immediately throws the ball back into play. two questions actually 1)the player caught the ball in the air out of bounds, is the ball out prior to the catch and if not would the ball not have been the other teams then? 2)is it legal to immediately throw the ball back in play without the offical signalling or making a call? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol (1) Yes. Law 9 says, "The ball is out of play when it has wholly crossed the goal line or touch line whether on the ground or in the air." When you said the defender headed it out, you did mean it was an opponent of the player taking the throw-ins, right? An opponent last touched the ball before it went over the touchline.
(2) Does the player have to wait for a signal? Whyever for? If it is apparent that the ball was out, and apparent which team gets the throw-in, let's just play.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer If all players know who is entitled to the restart of play the referee need not signal who gets the restart! It is far better for the referee to position himself on the field so he can better see play around an attack that may develop.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Ball has totally crossed the touchline after being headed and before it is caught, out of bounds, throw-in to opponent. The other team may immediately take the throw
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16398
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|