Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16412

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/24/2007

RE: Rec Under 10

Mike Owens of Kentwood, MI USA asks...

A loose ball (i.e., not deliberately kicked toward the keeper by a teammate) is outside the penalty area. May the goalkeeper dribble the ball into the penalty area and then, once inside the penalty area, pick it up with his hands?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Yes. Although some referees at rec U10 games won't know that, and will reason that it was a "backpass to self". Of course that's not what is in the Laws of the Game - the prohibition is against the goalkeeper handling a ball that has been deliberately kicked to him by a *teammate*.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Yes. The Laws state that a goal keeper may use their hands to control the ball while in their own penalty area and it has not been deliberately kicked toward them by their teammate. With the exception to the deliberately kicked by teammate situation, the Laws do not restrict or even address how the ball got in their own penalty area.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

As long as the ball was ALSO not thrown in by a teammate directly to the keeper.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16412
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>