- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16423Law 11 - Offside 8/25/2007RE: Competitive Under 16 Kevin Kribbet of Clearwater, FL USA asks...A player is clearly offside, in the box, well behind the fullback, as the ball is sent in from near midfield. While in the air, it glances off the fullback (whom never gains possession, or control of it) and lands on the foot of the offside player. He responds by tapping it in. The linesman's flag is up indicating the player is offside. The center ref over rules, and states "Because of the deflection the player now onside"? Which is right, because I thought that since the off sides occurred first, the play should've resulted in a goal kick... In order for the off sides player to be back on, the fullback would've had to have possession, and then lose it. Please help clarify!!! Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Kevin, the sad part of this incident is it so clearly understates the fact this and far too many other referes simply do not read the literature available! Within the LAWS of the Game on law 11 offside and the subsequent national and FIFA postion papers clearly imply that a DEFLECTION of the ball off a player does NOT reset offside restrictions for the opposing team if they last played the ball prior to the deflection.
The AR was 100% correct the referee 100% wrong.
You are also correct that control and posession of the ball is required by that defending player to reset offside restrctions for the opposition.
If the offside was realized as it should have been, it is an INDFK out from where the offside player was at the time of his team mate's KICK, not the deflection. Any INDFK inside the 6 yard goal area in favour of the defending team can occur anywhere within the goal area but the ball must still travel outside the penalty area to be in play and all defenders must be outside the penalty area as well. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Absolutely correct Kevin, well done sir. Except in this case where the referee, even though incorrect, had a different opinion. At that point coaches tighten their seat belts and bite their tongues. Assessors note the time and write "incorrect offside decision cost a goal".
This referee will find himself having to pay for two more assessments because this is a match altering incorrect decision.
By the way coach, you got the restart wrong -- should be indirect for offside.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino Well Coach if what you say occurred, no offside but the restart should NOT have been a goal kick. The offside player touched the ball. He's guilty of an offside offense. Restart with an Indirect Free Kick from the spot where he touched the ball unless inside the goal area in which case it comes out the 6
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16423
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|