- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16439Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 8/26/2007RE: AYSO Under 14 Blane Sanchez of Isleta, NM US asks...In the penalty area, a player on the left side attempts to pass the ball to a team mate in the middle just outside goal area. A nearby defender jumps in front of the offensive player extending both arms in what appears to be an attempt to play the ball with his hands. The ball is not touched and still gets to the offensive player. The ref blows the whistle for the defensive player's action. What should be the call? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Dropped ball for an inadvertent whistle. Why on earth did the referee think it necessary to blow? What ever happened to wait and see? The referee needs a little time with an assessor.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Blane, your copy of the Laws of the Game lists only three times under Law 12 (Fouls and Misconduct) when attempting to do something (kick, trip or strike) is an offense punishable by a direct free kick. The rest of the time, the referee must wait for the result of an action. In other words, the hand must actually touch the ball deliberately, or there is no handling offense. If it looks like a player is going to push someone else, you can't blow the whistle until he does push. If, in the situation you outlined, the referee actually blows his whistle, he'll need to eat it. He must tell the teams he blew the whistle in error, and that the restart will be a dropped ball. And maybe next time, he'll be more careful to observe the consequence of an action before raising the whistle to his lips.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino What was the whistle for? Attempting to deliberately handle the ball? No such foul. Restart with dropped ball
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Yeah this is a drop ball for stupidity on the referee. Unless the referee felt that the behavior was unsporting in which case he would caution the guilty player and restart with an IFK at the spot of the misconduct.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16439
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|