Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16445

Law 11 - Offside 8/27/2007

RE: Adult

Tom collett of Wolverhampton, West Midlands asks...

Hi, if a player is in an offside position, say in the centre of the oppositions half and the ball is played forward to either flank and another teamate runs onto the ball from an onside position and moves forward of his teamate in the offside position and crosses the ball back to that teamate who is forward of any defender, is that an offside offence?

Regards Tom

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Tom, once a new teammate touches the ball...then offside position is reset. In other words, if a teammate touches the ball and the next teammate to become involved in play was onside at the time of that touch, there is no infraction.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It sounds like your teammate on the flank with the ball is ahead of the originally offside-positioned player at the time of the cross. Remember that offside position has 3 parts, the first being ahead of the ball (the other two, ahead of the 2nd to last defender and in the attacking half). Since the player in the center is no longer in an offside position at the time his teammate last touches the ball, he is free to become involved in play. Prior to that he was not involved in play because the ball went out to the flank not center. (Unless he did something at his center position to interfere with an opponent, but you do not mention that.)



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16445
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>