- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16539Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/4/2007RE: Competive Adult Jose Sandoval of New Britain, CT USA asks...The referee has awarded Team B a free kick just outside its own penalty area. B3 takes the free kick and passes the ball back to the goalkeeper B1, who misplays the pass. The ball hits B's foot and continues into the B goal. Shall referee award a corner kick?. Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol Nope. Unfortunately (for them) they've just managed to score an own goal.
If B3 had kicked the ball directly into the net, it would be a corner kick. But because it touched another player - the keeper - it is no longer went directly into the net, so the goal counts.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No because the ball went into the goal and it was touched by the keeper (that did not take the kick). We now have a goal.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer As a goalkeeper you're going to be of two minds here. If I misplay it and it goes in after I touch it its a goal OR if I let it go in is the referee going to be ignorant of the fact no goal can be scored directly against my side from my free kick? This one haunts all keepers.
I have given up a goal from my opponent's untouched indirect free kick because the referee didn't know any better. I have also given up a goal when I allowed a free kick my side had taken towards me after I let it go by into my goal untouched, for a corner. On both these goals I determined the ball crossing the goal line into the net would be humiliating to the other side when no goal was awarded. Little did I know the referee was less versed in Law that I was.
Don't be that referee Jose! Touched and in is a goal, untouched and is a corner. Here there is a goal. Unlucky for the keeper, his skills left him. The goal counts just as much as the ones I let in based on my knowledge and skill, I was beaten just as surely as he was only I was beaten by the referee.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Goooooaaaaaalllllllll!
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16539
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|