Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16549

League Specific 9/5/2007

RE: competive High School

Bill Carmalt of Milan, PA USA asks...

This is a NFHS rule 3 section 3 Art 4.

Blue team has a roster of 10, so they are always playing short.

White team has full roster and can make substitutions.

Hot day, Blue coach pulls a player off with the referees permission due to fatigue/heat concerns. The play hydrates and is ready to return to play. She waits for a stoppage at the scorers table.

The white team sends a substitute to the scorers table.

The ball is kicked out of bounds by white. Blue throw in. The referee beckons both players. Was this correct?

The reading of 3.3.4 says the team NOT in possession .... may substitute.. it the team in possession is also substituting. However, in the above case, the Blue team is not substituting, it is only going up to strength.

Leads to a second question: when a returning player is entering at a stoppage, must whistles be blown?

Thanks, Bill

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

No the referee made an error in rule. He allowed a player off the field to return, this is not a substitution. Most referees can't fathom the difference between a player, a substitute and a substituted player [except in unlimited substitution matches where this team member becomes a substitute again].

Whistling is not required here because it is not required in Rule 9, Art. 3. I would recommend holding play until the returning player has stopped running to his position on the field. At that time just wave to restart. NOTE: the coach may be screaming at you because he thinks a substitution has taken place, it hasn't. If that happens deal with it by using a card. That might keep him quiet next time, though I doubt it...

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16549
Read other Q & A regarding League Specific

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>