Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16558

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/5/2007

RE: Traveling and High School Under 18

Michael of Edina, Minnesota USA asks...

Can a goalie leave the penalty area, play the ball into the penalty area, and pick it up? The way I see it is once the goalie leaves the area, he/she becomes another player and thus playing the ball back would be the same as another player deliberately playing the ball back to the keeper.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Sounds good, doesn't it? Except for one little problem. Law 12 is worded that the goalkeeper cannot handle the ball after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate. By a teammate - not by himself. So if the keeper has received the ball, either inside or outside the Penalty Area, in some manner other than a deliberate kick from a teammate (or throw-in by a teammate), he is free to handle the ball after dribbling it about, provided the ball is inside the PA when the handling occurs.

By the way, the keeper does not become "another player" by exiting the PA. He loses his superpowers, but he still is wearing the Spiderman shirt. Every team must have someone designated as a goalkeeper at all times. There's nothing in the Laws which say this person has to be acting like a goalkeeper - just that he has to be dressed like one.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Michael the way you see it is wrong.

Why, because in order for the goalkeeper to be sanctioned for picking up a ball kicked directly to him, he must receive that kick directly from a teammate. The keeper is not a teammate to himself, he is himself.

High School rules state: Rule 12 -sec. 7 -art. 3:
On any occasion when a(nother) player deliberately kicks the ball to his or her own goalkeeper, the goalkeeper is not permitted to touch the ball with his or her hands.
PENALTY: Indirect free kick awarded to the opponent at the spot of the violation, unless in the goal area (when it's brought to the spot at the top of the goal area nearest the location of the offense.)

Laws of the Game: Law 12:
An indirect free kick is awarded to the oppsing team if a goalkeeper inside his own penalty area committs any of the following 4 offenses:
-Touches the ball with his hands when it has been deliberately kicked to him by his TEAMMATE.

When the goalkeeper leaves the penalty area he is exactly the same as he was when he stood within it except he may not handle the ball outside of that area. There is no magical change of status to field player when the keeper leaves the area. Again, he is not his own teammate.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

Nope! The keeper can dribble the ball back into the penalty area and pick it up PROVIDED THE BALL WAS NOT DELIBERATLY KICKED TO HIM FROM A TEAMMATE.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Hi Michael. You better rethink your logic here. Once the keeper leaves the penalty area he loses his privileges but he is STILL the keeper and may not infringe any of the Laws. If the ball he goes to retrieve was thrown there by a teammate or kicked deliberately there by a teammate, he may go collect either one and dribble back into his penalty area but he may not subsequently immediately handle the ball. If he does, you the referee should award an indirect free kick to the keeper's opponents.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16558
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>