- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16570Law 14 - Penalty kick 9/6/2007RE: BCSA Class 4 Under 16 Adam of Quesnel, Canada asks...I was told that if a team tries to switch goalkeepers just before a penalty kick they'd get a red card? But I couldn't find it in my laws of the game? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney It is great that you tried to look this up. And if you didn't find it, you should be very skeptical of anything else from the person who told you this story, because you won't find a reason to give a red card for this situation anywhere in the Laws of the Game. Use your logical thinking, Adam and it should tell you why. A team can substitute on any stoppage, Law 3, and a penalty kick is a stoppage - Law 12 & 14. Or, they can certainly switch with a player already on the field during the stoppage, as long as they inform the referee before the change - Law 3. So what have they done wrong - especially so wrong it would warrant the most severe of punishments? Nothing. Don't go there - bad karma.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Adam, someone is having you on. If not the information he is giving you is absolutely wrong. Should the person be a referee show him this answer and sign him up for a recert class.
Law 3 affords a team the right to change the goalkeeper with an outfield player at any stoppage in play provided the referee is first notified. The referee may not refuse this. It is not a request it is notification of their intent to make the change.
Should substitutes remain [or if there are unlimited substitutions in the match] and a substitute goalkeeper has already come forward the referee may allow the change to take place at this stoppage in play. Note: if the league specifies stoppages where substitutions may be made and this is not one of those specified there can be no substitution.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino You can't find it because it's nowhere to be found. A keeper change with a player on the field is allowed at ANY stoppage as long as the referee is notified. If a keeper change is made without the referee's knowledge play continues and BOTH players are cautioned and shown the YELLOW, never RED, card for this infraction.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16570
Read other Q & A regarding Law 14 - Penalty kick The following questions were asked as a follow up to the above question...See Question: 19202
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|