Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16574

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/6/2007

RE: Competitive Under 14

Greg of Boise, ID United States asks...

Referee stops play because two players on opposite teams start exchanging punches, away from the ball. Referee sends off both players. What is the proper restart? Thank you.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Punching is striking. Striking is a direct free kick foul. The restart is a DFK, at the site of the foul.

You didn't ask, but I presume you want to know in which direction the kick would go. That depends on who threw the first punch. The first punch was the foul; all other punches after that were misconduct. Or maybe there was something that preceded the punching that was a foul. Whatever the referee determines as the first foul, determines the direction of the free kick - for the opponents.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

That depends why the referee stopped play. The player that the referee saw throw the first punch is going to be the team that is not awarded the dfk. As Mr. Voshol states, the foul occurred on the first strike and after that everything was misconduct.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Greg,
ONLY if the referee can not actually determine who started the fight or who fouled who first is a dropball is permissable.
14. While the ball is in play, two opposing players commit offences at the same time. What action does the referee take?
He stops the play, and depending on the offences, cautions or sends
off the players, or takes no disciplinary action. The match will be
restarted by a dropped ball, from the place where the ball was when
the offences were committed. Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16574
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>