- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16577Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/7/2007RE: Competitive Under 16 socrgoddess of Overland Park, KS USA asks...A player passes the ball back to the goalkeeper who is in her six yard box. The goalkeeper, knowing she can't pick the ball up from a back pass, attempts to clear the ball with one touch. The ball hits a bump in the field before it reaches her and she ends up shanking the ball about 25 yards in the air. The ball comes down just inside the 18 yard line and she jumps above an opponent to catch the ball.
No other player has touched the ball from when the GK kicked it to her catching it.
Is this a foul based on the GK not being able to handle a back pass or is it allowed because she attempted to clear by kicking the ball away and she was allowed to go get it as she didn't intentionally pass it to herself?
Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller The laws of the game state that a keeper cannot handle the ball if it has been deliberatly kicked to him by a teammate. The keeper must wait until an opponent touches ball or a teammate touches ball (that is not kicked deliberalty to him). I will go with a foul here. Interested to see colleagues response.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The goalkeeper has kicked the ball in to play and allowed it to be played by anyone who can get there. Granted he is the only one to play it and should not use his hands. Perhaps I would lean in the direction of "he isn't trying to waste time" and let things continue, perhaps not. I would have to see what was going on in the match and base my decision of those events. The school book solution is simply indirect to the keeper's opponents, BUT...
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16577
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|