- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16580Law 11 - Offside 9/7/2007RE: Adult Ross of san francisco, USA asks...If an offensive player who is offside goes out of bounds on the side of the goal to be out of the play and the other offensive player shots and the goalie catches it and the player who left the field gets permission from the ref to re enter and does so. If the goalie mishandles or miskicks the ball the the player who got waived back in is there to receive it and scores, is that a vaild goal or not? Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Goodness! Let's see: 1) player leaves field to avoid being called for offside - this is fine and legal; 2) player returns to field with referee's permission - this is fine and legal and correct; 3) goalkeeper catches ball and plays ball out into field and it goes to player who returned to field and who is now able to play; 4) player receives ball from defender (goalkeeper) so there can be no offside call; 5) therefore, ipso facto goal counts. Restart: kickoff. However, in other situations, the referee needs to be careful not to allow the player back onto the field until the ball has cleared the area where the departed player was - and the player should be smart enough not to ask until he can safely re-enter without putting himself right back into the same offside situation.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Ross I see you are a fan of The Game. When a referee is faced with allowing an offside player to return after he has communicated his intention not to participate to by leaving the field the referee must not allow the return until play has turned and his returning will no longer result in controversy. Here the keeper is in control and until another attacker touches the ball.
When the keeper makes a hash of it and the ball winds up at the feet of the previously offside player a goal is there for the taking.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Since the keeper had possession of the ball, the attacker cannot be offside. After all, the attacker received the ball from a controlled pass by the keeper. We evaluate offside at the moment the ball touches a teammate.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16580
Read other Q & A regarding Law 11 - Offside
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|