Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16600

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/8/2007

RE: traveling Under 12

patti isensee of shakopee, mn united states asks...

Can the goalie pick up the ball if the last person to touch the ball was a team mate? Or does it have to have been touched by the opposing team before she can pick it up?

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

It depends. If the teammate heads, chests, knees, thighs or otherwise uses anything but a foot to get the ball back to the keeper who then picks it up, we keep playing as nothing has occurred which is considered an offense under the Laws. Even if it gets back to the keeper, who picks it up, from the foot of a teammate, we must ask next if the kick was deliberate. If yes, then the restart is an indirect free kick from the spot where the goal keeper picked it up, unless it is in the goal area, in which case it will be from the closest point at the top of the goal area. If no, then we keep playing, as nothing in violation of the Law has occurred. Now, if the keeper picks up a ball for a second time, having just released it, without an intervening touch/play by an opponent or a teammate , then we penalize the keeper with an indirect free kick for a second touch. Hope that is helpful.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

The goalkeeper can always use her hands to play the ball unless she receives the ball from the deliberate kick of a team mate, directly from the throw-in of a team mate, has released the ball into play or has already possessed the ball for more than six seconds.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16600
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>