Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16636

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/10/2007

RE: varsity High School

Jerry of wrentham, ma usa asks...

When the keeper retrieves the ball and then punts it - at what point is he "out of the box"? Is it from where the ball is on the punt or from where his feet are?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It is where the ball is while being held in his hands. The keeper is not allowed to continue holding the ball while it is entirely outside the penalty area. Where the ball is kicked or where the keeper's foot lands is immaterial.

Please note that in most cases, a bit of leeway should be given the keeper before making a handling call. This is because it is a trifling foul, one which has little or no effect. The wise referee, or more likely assistant referee who would be in a better position to see the offense, should warn the keeper: "Watch your line!"



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

The keeper is out of the box when he is out of the box. It is NOT an offense for the keeper to be out of the box.

It is an offense for the keeper to deliberately handle the ball when it is wholly outside of the penalty area (or, box as you say above).



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The round 27 inch ball position in relationship to the 5 inch penalty area boundry lines is our cherry!. Law 1 states the lines are PART of the area they encompass! The 5 inch boundry lines are like an invisable wall extending up from the ground if ANY portion of the ball is in contact with that wall the keeper may use his hands legally EVEN if his entire body is outside that 5 inch wall. If while carrying the ball in his hands the keeper allows the ball to pass TOTALLY beyond the 5 inch wall into the field area while his hands remain in contact with the ball he is technically quilty of handles the ball deliberately a DFK offence. On a punt out we could cut a bit of slack on close or reasonably close incidents as trivial . HOWEVER, if at any time a keeper reaches to knock a ball outside of the penalty area using the hands to prevent a shot or a tactical ploy to stop an attack it is NOT trivial, always a DFK and in fact often cautionable or even a send off offence. It should be noted that a keeper can NEVER be quilty of handles the ball deliberately for a PK only a DFK and this occurs at the POINT of contact when the ball is totally OUTSIDE the boundry line. If a keeper was to be nailed for carrying the ball outside to say top of the arc some 4 yards out then punts it the dfk occurs JUST outside the boundryline NOT at the top of the arc! Often keeper can begin tossing a ball just prior to exiting the penalty area yet kick the ball well outside in LEGAL fashion. Look carefully and remember the NEED to consider if there truly is a transgression and whether it is at most trivial or tactical in nature!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

As my learned colleagues have noted, it is the position of the ball that determines if or when a GK is handling the ball deliberately outside of the penalty area. A word of caution - as GKs usually release the ball before punting, there is a slight delay between the time it is dropped and the time it is kicked. This is often the exact moment when the ball crosses the penalty area line - and 99 times out of a 100 the GK has already released the ball in preparation for the punt before crossing the line. Don't get over-anxious to call this one - let the GK know you're watching. They may be crazy but they are rarely stupid.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16636
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>