Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16644

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/11/2007

RE: Select Under 9

Vincent DeLuca of Manalapan, NJ US asks...

This question is a follow up to question 15936

What consitutes legal physical contact? At what point does it become a pushing foul? Is leveraging with a raised arm considered pushing?

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Legal physical contact is shoulder to shoulder when the ball is in close enough proximity to be played immediately after the contact. If contact is initiated by moving away from the ball, i.e., leaving it to attack an opponent this is foul play. The act of using hands or arms to create space to in order to play the ball is foul play in all cases, though at advanced levels of competition the players themselves accept this is "fair play" and the referee should understand they consider it trifling and not intervene. These kinds of trifling offences do tend to pile up so the referee should be aware when players have grown tired of them. It is also recommended these offences be counted toward persistent infringement of the Laws of the Game, an offence for which the guilty player is cautioned and shown the yellow card.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

When the referee decides that it is careless, reckless, or excessive force. Plain and simple. As Mr. Fleischer states different levels may mean different decisions by the referee. Stretching an arm to prevent a player from movement is holding and should be called. Sometimes though the players may view calling it everytime an arm is out stretched as trifiling. A good referee will recognize the line between acceptable play and not acceptable play for that game. Remember that all games are different.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16644
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>