Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16657

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/12/2007

RE: Competitive Under 15

Russ of Manchester, CT USA asks...

The ball is in the box, but the goalie has overcommitted himself and falls facing the goal with feet outside box but hands/ball inside box. Is this considered a hand ball based on the goalies body placement or a fair ball to control by hand by the goalie based on the ball placement?

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

Play continues. The position of the ball was within the goalkeeper's penalty area, it is not an offense for the goalkeeper to handle the ball within his own penalty area. The position of his feet or body is irrelevant.

In these situations remember it is the hands and the ball that matter, nothing else.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Change this a tiny bit and it becomes clearer - if the keeper is totally within his penalty area except for his hands which are holding a ball just over the goal line inside the net, wouldn't you call that a goal? So you can see it is the position of the ball first that matters, and then the hands.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Law 12 makes it an offence to deliberately handle the ball [except for the goalkeeper within his own penalty area]. This means the location of the ball not the location of the goalkeeper.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16657
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>