- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16670Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/13/2007RE: school High School kayla martin of circleville, ohio usa asks...can a girl on you're own team intentionally drop the ball back to the keeper and the keeper pick the ball up with her hands or will it be called a handball? should she pick it up or should she kick it and not touch it with her hands? Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer How did you drop the ball to your keeper? By heading it back, chesting it back, using your thigh, knee??? In all those cases she can use her hands.
Did you deliberately kick it to her? If that's the case she can't use her hands without penalty of an indirect free kick.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney In any case, your keeper could never be called for deliberately handling the ball inside her own penalty area. She is allowed to use her hands because she is the GK, but there are certain situations where the Law thinks that is unfair or time wasting but isn't as serious as to cause a penalty kick to happen. So it is an indirect free kick is given.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If the keepers teammate kicked the ball to keeper deliberatly, then the keeper cannot touch ball with hands. If he does, IFK at the spot of the 2nd touching.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16670
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|