Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16677

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/13/2007

RE: Rec Adult

Jim of Kwajalein, Republic of the Marshall Islands asks...

This is a several part question on golie possession:

1) The goalkeeper makes a save (either by hand, foot or body) but does not gain possession of the ball with his hands. He then dribbles the ball with his feet several yards (he is in control but not in possession).
Can he then take possession (i.e. pick up the ball)?

2) Goalkeeper has ball in possession, places ball on ground and dribbles several yards with his feet, then picks up and punts the ball. Should this be an indirect kick?

3) If the goalie is in possession, puts the ball on the ground with his hands -- foot does not touch the ball -- and picks it back up, is that allowed?

4) Forward boots the the ball all the way down to the LEFT side of the goal box but but doesn't follow up.
The keeper collects the ball with his feet, and dribbles clear across the box (40 yds) to the RIGHT side. Should he be allowed to pick it up?

Thanks,
Jim

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Jim, if the goalkeeper doesn't receive the ball directly from a teammate who kicked it to him or to a place where he could get to it, then the keeper can always pick it up with his hands. Once having picked it up, the keeper cannot release possession/control and then pick it up again, unless he wishes to have an indirect free kick awarded against him. So, in order: 1) Yes. 2) Yes, at the point where he picked it up a second time, unless that is in the goal area, in which case it will be at the top of the goal area line closest to the spot of the offense*. 3) No. Indirect free kick from point where it is picked up (see above *). 4) a. Assuming the forward is an opponent, yes, he can pick it up. b) forward on his own team, no, he cannot pick it up without committing an offense for which the restart is an indirect free kick (see above *).



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

1. Play continues -- 2. Indirect free kick -- 3. Indirect free kick -- 4. Depends on if the forward is a teammate or not.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16677
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>