Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16723

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/16/2007

RE: Select Under 13

Sean Creighton of Baltimore, MD USA asks...

Goalie accidently steps out of box before kicking the ball out of his hands. Is this a direct or indirect free kick?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

When the keeper is outside his penalty area he is treated like any other player. Deliberately handling the ball NEVER results in an indirect free kick as it's one of the 10 direct free kick fouls. that said, you should remember that all handling violations by a keeper inside his penalty area always result in indirect free kicks but these violations are not Deliberately Handling The Ball as described in Law 12. ALso, depending on how far outside the penalty area the keeper goes, the referee is free to view the violation as trifling and not penalize it



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

Remember too, the goalkeeper releases the ball before he kicks it, and it is often difficult to pinpoint the exact moment he lets go of the ball - is it before or after he lands outside of the penalty area? And, if the referee can't tell for sure, we're not going to call that one, especially if the keeper is making a bonafide effort to get it into play. We are not discussing the guys who come 3 to 5 yards out of the penalty area, we are discussing a matter of inches where some doubt exists. Should the keeper be so foolish as to ignore a warning about watching his line and come out again too far for it to be trifling, it will be a direct free kick against his team - and, no, we don't have to wait for a wall to restart play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

The keeper stepping out is nothing! If the ball is ACTUALLY carried and HELD with the hands completely outside the 5 inch invisable wall eminating from that 5 inch white strip of the PA boundryline in the process of a punt out it is technically a DFK offence from just outside the boundryline (handles the ball deliberately). .

Faded lines, momentume, slippery surfaces age, skill level and the distance the ball is actually carried outside at times play a role in the determination of making this a definate must stop play to deal with or as a trivial or doubtful offence!

As it is a release of a ball into play such an infringment is often requarded as trifling and ignored. Doubtful in that a release or toss of the ball just as the keeper leaves the PA area can find the actual location of the kick to take well outside yet the ball was being released as it passed over the boundryline.

A keeper can NEVER be quilty of a DFK or PK for a deliberate handling violation INSIDE his PA only INDFK offences can possibly occurf or illegal use of hands on the ball inside the PA! Note the location of the DFK if called for the carry out ALWAYS occurs just a millimeter away from the boundryline where the ball was first completely carried outside NOT from where the kick took place
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Ben Mueller

If the whole ball is over the penalty area line, then the correct restart is a dfk for the opponents.



Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller

View Referee Ben Mueller profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16723
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>