Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16733

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/16/2007

RE: Select Other

Siobhan of Burke, VA USA asks...

While ARing a select game, the goalie of the home team clearly carried the ball outside the penalty area twice during one play. She carried it out the sideline of the penalty area and took several running strides carrying the ball. The other AR raised his flag for the infringement. The Center waived him off. She proceeded to carry the ball back into the box and then carry it across the top of the penalty area before punting it at least 3 yds outside the box. Again, the AR signaled the infringement and the Center waived him off a second time. The punt was received by a forward who took one touch and then shot + scored.

The Center ref then took time to "talk with" the goalie cautioning her to be careful about carrying out of the box, but took no other action.

At the conclusion of the game, in hearing of the opposing coach, the Center approached both ARs and unprompted said that in his judgement her momentum had carried her out of the box both times in the single play. He instructed myself and my fellow AR that the goalie is allowed to carry the ball outside the box if his/her momentum propels the goalie out of the box. I have never heard this interpretation before. Could you tell me if this is accurate?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Simply running outside under momentume with the ball is not as serious as going outside to get the ball! We might see faded lines or a slippery surface as some justification but three yards is pretty blatant about it. While we can consider a punt out as a release of the ball in play as a trivial infraction again three yards is a lot if the ball is actually held in the hands and not being tossed to make it unclear. To wave off the AR is serious stuff to do it twice in quick succession for the same thing means nothing much covered in the pregame. We like to let the game flow and avoid calling minor stuff if it does not truly affect the game. I suppose one could say the huge kick and the great shot scoring the goal were arrived at unfairly but it smacks of some very poor defending and standing around as well as a short field perhaps?
The referee is completely wrong in saying the goalie is allowed to do as she did. She is not in fact and while it could be harsh a DFK from just otside the box is the only correct call should it be deemed as not trivial or doubtful! We do considr age and skill and a first time but three yards is a big distance where a step out of a few inches even feet might not be!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

Well that's a new one. The referee should simply say that he thought the offense trifling and it did not need to be called.

When the AR saw the keeper 3 yards beyond the line, was she still holding the ball in her hands at that point? 3 yards is quite a distance to "miss" seeing the line. Or had she actually let the ball go back at or near the 18, and her foot made contact 3 yards out? Galileo showed nearly 5 centuries ago that a ball in motion will continue in motion when the person holding it lets it go - it does not drop straight down.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

There is no rule stating that the momentum of the keeper allows her to carry the ball over the boundary of the penalty area. What the center referee should have said was that, in his opinion, the carrying over of the ball a few yards did not influence play and was trifling so he waved off the AR. In this he IS supported by the Law.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16733
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>