- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16734Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/16/2007RE: AYSO U10 Under 10 Danny of Torrance, CA USA asks...Inside the box, if the ball is on the ground, and the goalie has his two hands on the top of the ball - not holding it, but kind of trapping it down on the ground, can it be kicked away?
Thank You. Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Danny, if the keeper has any part of hand or arm resting against the ball trapping it on the ground the ball CANNOT be played legally and any attempt is an infringment be it PIADM for INDFK or a DFK for kicking or attempting to kick! Keep in mind that a ball can come to rest against or be partially trapped then slightly bobbled inthose cases the ball if free and clear of contact even by a little bit that ball is contestable. Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller No. A finger on the ball between the ground is considered control. He may not be challenged then.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney Absolutely not! And any player who does try to dislodge the ball from the keeper once she has it pinned to the ground as you describe needs to see a direct free kick for kicking or attempting to kick, along with the distinct possibility of a caution for unsporting behavior.
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16734
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|