Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16746

Law 4 - Players Equipment 9/17/2007

RE: Rec Under 12

Jim Bussell of Great Mills, Maryland USA asks...

A player was taking a penalty kick; his shoe accidentally flew off when he kicked the ball and he scored. The referree disallowed the goal on the grounds that the shoe flying off distracted the goalie and presented a danger to the goalie. The opposing team was awarded an indirect free kick. Law 4 (pg.66) seems to state otherwise. Was the referree in error? Under what circumstances(if any) would he have been correct?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

As an opinion on a fact of play his view is correct in that it is uncontestable!
I cannot fault a referee for thinking that a boot and ball launched at the same time might create some weird mindgames in the head of the keeper. The loss of the equipment was likely accidental not deliberate so to see it as a foul it could at worst be careless!

It could be the careless act of an untied or loose shoe is sufficent that the PK was affected unfairly but I question the fact the PK was not retaken? Law 14 states we allowt he kick and if scored it is retaken if it missed then indfk out! Retake would be my vote!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Jim in the Laws, beginning on page 59 of the .pdf version, are Additional Instructions and Guidance. This part is intended to replace the Additional instructions found in last year's Laws and Q&A 2006. The statement about a footwear coming off should be considered happening to an outfield player as a result of the action of an opponent or team mate stepping on it. Footwear flying off is something that simply does not happen on its own. Prior to the match the referee should see footwear is properly fitted and the coach, manager, trainer of the side should see to teaching players how to properly wear their uniform equipment.

This day and age players treat their boots as slip-on's not as something that is tied and untied before and after a match. If this were to happen during play the referee is well advised to ask the player to leave the field and attend to his unsafe uniform. He should not return until the footwear is properly tied. Upon repetition the player is cautioned for unsporting behaviour and asked to leave the field to attend to the same issue. At the taking of a free kick or a penalty, especially a penalty, this is a different set of circumstances. The kick may be whistled and retaken once corrections are made. The special case of Law 14 requires a retake if the kicker violates Law 14 and a goal is scored, conversely it orders an indirect free kick if the Law is violated and a goal is not scored. Further Law 14 has historically expected players not to interfere with either the keeper or the kicker at the taking of the kick.

If, in the opinion of the referee, there has been some kind of interference with the keeper or there is some kind of danger presented he is well within the Law to intervene. And the player loosing his footwear should be instructed to leave the field and attend to his uniform NOT replace it on the field.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Law 14 clearly states that if a goal is scored in this instance, the kick is retaken. Had a goal not been scored, than award an IFK



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16746
Read other Q & A regarding Law 4 - Players Equipment

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>