- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16780Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/18/2007RE: Adult jennifer hutcheon of laguna beach, CA United States asks...If the ball hits your hand, and you have your hand your hands up to defend yourself.. is that considered a hand ball Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson Hi Jen, if it was an instinctive move of preservation and the ball was coming at you very very fast and from a short distance away leaving no time to do anything else and you did not try to redirect it in any meaningful way then a referee could be of the opinion there is no deliberateness in the ball striking the hand. Just be sure you do not use the "hands were there to protect" when you have time and options other than to let the ball impact you by raising your hands or crossing your arms. Running into a long clearing ball with arms crossed over the chest or using those arms to redirect the ball away from a stationary position when there was time to readjust your body and use say your head, upper thigh, chest etc.. to control the ball might be seen as the foul handles the ball deliberately! Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Sure it's handball, no problem there. BUT, FIFA tells us "handles the ball deliberately [except for the goalkeeper within her own penalty area]" as something a direct free kick is given for. Jennifer you must determine if the action was deliberate and intended to play the ball. Without that there is no foul play only keeping the parts attached,
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16780
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|