Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16786

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/19/2007

RE: Select Under 13

Bill Turk of Grand Blanc, MI USA asks...

Team "A" is attacking, Team "B" is defending. Player "A" from Team "A" kicks the ball ahead of himself, so the ball is now at least 10-15 feet in front of him and out of his control, and the ball enters the penalty box area. As the ball roles forward, player "B" from team "B" comes over to pursue the ball. Player "A" and player "B" arrive at the ball at the same time. Both hit very hard into each other and fall down. The result was a penalty kick for Team "A" for a charging penalty against Team "B", is this a correct call? If so, why? If not, why?

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

It's the correct call because the referee on hand decided that B committed a foul. Another observer, from a different angle and perspective, may have another opinion - but it is the referee's opinion that matters. We here who never saw the incident from any perspective cannot decide that the referee was wrong.

Charging is one of the 10 direct free kick fouls listed in Law 12. When committed in the penalty area, the restart is a penalty kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Right! The referee saw it, he had an opinion, that opinion was penalty, done deal. Period.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

The referee determined that B fouled A and that he committed a direct free kick offense inside his own penalty area. Therefore a penalty kick is the proper restart.

Referee's judgment is key to this play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The referee at the field saw this and awarded a penalty kick. It's his judgement and his decision is final.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16786
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>