Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16788

Law 4 - Players Equipment 9/19/2007

RE: professional Under 19

john graham of motherwell, north lanarkshire scotland asks...

are goalkeepers allowed or NOT allowed to roll their sleeves up? they have to decide on a short sleeve or long sleeve top before the game dont they????

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Law 4 requires goalkeepers to wear colours distinguishing them from the other players and the referees. That is all! I have heard this sleeves rolled up thing from Scotland before. You might want to write the SFA and seek George Cumming's opinion regarding this myth. As far as I'm concerned the keeper can have one sleeve rolled up and the other in his kit bag so long as the jersey is different than mine and the other players.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino

It makes no difference according to the LOAF how the goalkeeper wears his shirt. It must be different from the other players and the referee, that's all.



Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino

View Referee Steve Montanino profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

This does keep appearing in Scotland. I would guess a commentator decided it was against the rules for a keeper to roll up his sleeves and has propogated the myth.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16788
Read other Q & A regarding Law 4 - Players Equipment

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>