Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16810

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/20/2007

RE: COMPETIVE Adult

WALTER DI CARLO of STONEHAM, MA USA asks...

a goalkeeper inside his own penalty area, touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate. Do you call for indirect free kick from where the offense occurred or do you call for a penalty kick. please let me know thanks. regards Walter Di Carlo

Answer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney

It could NEVER be a penalty kick - NEVER. A goalkeeper is always allowed to use his hands inside the penalty area. In a few instances he is restricted in when he can handle it, and if he does, then the punishment is ALWAYS an indirect free kick from where the GK was when he handled the ball, unless it was in the goal area, in which case the kick is from the top of the goal area line. You can NEVER punish a goalkeeper with a penalty kick for handling the ball inside his own penalty area. NEVER.



Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney

View Referee Michelle Maloney profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Walter,
this is one of the four INDFK offences that a keeper could be guilty of for illegal handling of the ball inside his own penalty area.
These offences can NEVER EVER be a PK.
They are an indfk from where the keeper improperly uses his hands subject to law 8 special circumstances where an indirect free kick against the defenders within the goal area is always pulled straight back and taken 6 yards away from the goal line.

If a keeper uses his hands on the ball outside his own penalty area then it it is a DFK offence from that exact spot but it is NOT possible for that to be pulled inside his area on a pretext that because it could fit DOGSO criteria it must be a PK. That is a myth as well!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Walter. Burn this into your mind. NEVER EVER NO WAY NO HOW can a handling offense by the keeper result in a penalty kick. All keeper handling offenses inside his/her own penalty area result in IFKs and outside the penalty area it is, of course, a DFK same for any other player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16810
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>