Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16824

Law 15 - Throw In 9/21/2007

RE: Rec Under 11

Jeff Conquest of Huntsville, AL U.S.A asks...

If a properly executed throw in enters the field of play, does not touch a player of either team, and then leaves the field of play over the touchline, what is the restart?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Jeff,
the throw in is awarded to the opposing team from the point where the ball completelycrossed over and left the FOP after first rentering FOP. Reasoning? The ball was last touched by the team taking the throw in! Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Jon Sommer

The ball entered field of play so is in play, then left and is now awarded the other way where it left the field of play.



Read other questions answered by Referee Jon Sommer

View Referee Jon Sommer profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

Throw-in to the other team at the point it left the field of play



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

This is the same issue as any free kick leaving the field of play without touching another player, there is a stoppage in play because the ball has crossed a field boundary either in the air or on the ground. Law 9 is very clear on this matter.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16824
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>