- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16849Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/23/2007RE: competive Under 8 Travis Fletcher of Elkins , West Virginia united states asks...A kid used his hands in his own goaly box. Is this a direct kick or an indirect. Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer Travis, was the kid a outfield player or a goalkeeper? Was it his penalty area or theirs? Was the ball in play or not? Was the touch deliberate or not? The referee needs to know all of these things before awards a free kick. The free kick awarded may be direct or indirect based on who and under what were the circumstances of the touch. AND under some circumstances there is no free kick necessary. Law 12 tells us when to award a direct or indirect free kick. Because you are a referee I assume you have access to the Laws of the Game given you when you first qualified.
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol What in the world is "competitive Under 8?" I am willing to give you the benefit of doubt for it being U8, as quite possibly you are a slightly-trained volunteer helping out in the kids' league. But if the league passes itself off as competitive, they would be using USSF-certified referees. A large part of the certification class is on fouls and misconduct, and the resulting restarts. So I am mystified. Should you know this as a basic part of your training, or is this an unaffiliated league that makes it up as it goes? Or, as part of the "small-sided games" rules, has the league made all free kicks indirect?
Deliberately handling the ball is a direct free kick offense, which does not apply to a goalkeeper when the ball is in her own penalty area. If a player other than the goalkeeper commits a DFK offense inside her own penalty area, it is a penalty kick.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller If it is not the keeper, then the restart should be a PK.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16849
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|