Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16854

Law 13 - Free Kicks 9/23/2007

RE: competitive Under 15

Vern Meissner of rancho palos verdes, ca USA asks...

If a team is awarded a direct kick and while taking it the other team encroaches, does the same team take the direct kick again or is there a special foul for the encroachment? Our ref gave us an indirect kick after the encoachment instead of having us take the direct kick again.

Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol

The original kick should be retaken, after cautioning the offender.



Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol

View Referee Gary Voshol profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

The free kick should have been retaken after a caution given. In this case a direct free kick.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer

Law 13 states "If, when a free kick is taken, an opponent is closer than the required distance: the kick is retaken"

You'll note there are a few things missing from this statement. The first is did the player have any effect on the free kick? Next was that effect based based on the ball hitting him or his moving to intercept it? Was the player retiring at the time of the kick? Was the player where he was because he was moving toward the ball after the position of the restart had been established?

The referee must also think "Why am I doing this free kick again?" If the reason is because an opponent was nearer than ten yards is loads different than if the reason was the opponent failed to respect the required distance.

Given all those things the referee must come to a decision regarding possible misconduct on behalf of the opponent. In all cases if the referee is of the mind the opponent failed to respect the required distance he MUST be cautioned. There can be no other answer if that thought is present. However if the referee is of the mind the opponent was just nearer than the required distance, was retiring, didn't attempt to make a play for the ball by reaching out AND had effect on the free kick the referee should retake the kick as Law 13 requires and forgo discipline. The referee is well advised to speak with this player regarding possible future unwise decisions.

You'll note I have discussed what happened in terms of what the referee is thinking at the time and what his actions must be based on his opinion. The referee's integrity must force specific action if his mind says that player failed to respect the required distance at the taking of a corner kick, a free kick or a throw-in. That specific action is to caution and show the yellow card for the offence committed.

In any case when a player is closer than the required distance: the kick is retaken is the letter of the Law. It is right to retake the kick if any player opposing the free kick has any effect of the freedom of a player to freely take his free kick in any direction he chooses. Why it is right is this: a team was harmed by foul play and a free kick was awarded as punishment for that foul play. The referee's allowing the free kick to be interfered with is further harming that side. That just isn't right.

Regards,



Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer

View Referee Chuck Fleischer profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

Oops. If the referee stops play to deal with encroachment, then the restart is always the original restart. The assumption is that the ball has not been put into play. Also, the referee must caution the player who has encroached for failure to respect the required distance.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16854
Read other Q & A regarding Law 13 - Free Kicks

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>