- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16864Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/24/2007RE: competetive Under 12 Jose Salazar of CENTENNIAL, CO usa asks...Is the ball in play when a keeper bounces the ball before they punt? Can our player attempt to take it when they release it from their hand? Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher Yes the ball is in play -- it never left play in this scenario -- but it is also still in the possession of the goal keeper. Yes, your player could attempt to take it away, but will get a caution and an indirect free kick awarded against your team in the process. Bottom line, the goal keeper has retained possession of the ball and may not be challenged for it by their opponent.
Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher
View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profileAnswer provided by Referee Gary Voshol IFAB and FIFA did us no favors a few years back, when they had an item in the Q&A publication that allowed this for one year. The next year they reversed the answer. Myths are much harder to kill than to start, especially if at the time they start they are the truth.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Michelle Maloney If the goalkeeper has the ball in his hands and is going to punt, the ball is in play since it hasn't left the field and the referee hasn't blown her whistle - the only times when it isn't in play. If your player attempts to take the ball from the goalkeeper while he is in the process of releasing it into play, the very least that will happen is an indirect free kick against your team. Most likely the player will receive a caution for unsporting behavior, and possibly, depending on whether or not your player made contact with the keeper in the process of trying to take it away, a direct free kick for kicking or attempting to kick the GK or another Law 12 offense. And such behavior pisses off the referee because now she has to deal with upset defenders and goalkeepers - never a good idea to piss off the referee, you know?
Read other questions answered by Referee Michelle Maloney
View Referee Michelle Maloney profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller Not anymore. The keeper cannot be challenged if he bounces the ball before the punt.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16864
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|