- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16911Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/26/2007RE: Rec Adult Gar of Frisco, Texas USA asks...An opposing player plays a ball into the defenders penalty area. The balls rolls through the area and out the side without touching another player and remains in the field of play. Is it legal for the defending goalkeper to gather the ball with his feet outside the area, dribble it back into the area and then pick it up? Keeping in mind the ball was played by the opposition and never touched by a defensive player other than the GK. Any guidance on this would be appreciated, especially if it includes link or reference to the rule in question.
Answer provided by Referee Steve Montanino Of course this is permitted.
The goalkeeper is allowed to handle any ball within his own penalty area with the following exceptions: 1. A ball that has been kicked deliberately to him by his teammate. 2. A teammate's throw-in. 3. A ball that he has released into play and has not yet touched by another player.
Read Law 12 in the laws of the game. This will cover all of the offenses of the goalkeeper.
Read other questions answered by Referee Steve Montanino
View Referee Steve Montanino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer This is perfectly OK.
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Richard Dawson HI Gar, law 12 lists the four INDFK offences the keeper could be quilty of if there are handling restrictions in place.
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences: ? takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession ? touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player ? touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate ? touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate
The reason you do not see in law what you ask is because there is no restriction in law on a keeper acting as a player? The keeper has special use of hishands on the ball inside his area that is the only difference. If an ordinary player dribbled the ball into his penalty area and then out and back in again do you see a crime? As a coach not exactly the best defensive tactic but as long as that player does not use his hands because UNLIKE the keeper he does not possess that special advantage!! The keeper only has to be aware once he venturs outside his area to retrieve the ball not to use his hands until (1) he is back inside or if that ball was deliberately kicked or directly throw in to him by a team mate or he had already had the ball for 6 seconds and released it back into play. You see where this is going? Cheers
Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson
View Referee Richard Dawson profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16911
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|