Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16926

Law 15 - Throw In 9/26/2007

RE: Select Under 15

JD of SF, CA USA asks...

Referee deemed a throw-in was more then 2 meters from his throw-in mark and immediately awarded the other team the throw-in. If the player is not intentionally surpassing the 2 meter mark, to gain an advantage, what is the right call from the referee?

When is the ref permitted to reverse the throw-in.

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Yes as an opinion if he belived the throw in was INCORRECTLY done then the throw in reverts to the opposing team. I can agree that two meters from the point where it left the field of play could be deemed trivial say in the defending third but we are instructed a meter or so is the agreed distance where we will not quibble. I am willing to bet all throw ins were taken very close to where they exited the field after that call!
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

How does the referee know the "intent" of the player?? That word - intent - was taken out of the LOTG specifically to prevent the referee from having to read players' minds. We go by what we know the LOTG are and in turn what we see and ultimately through experience, what our gut tells us. The right call from the referee is to dissallow an improper throw-in. We are fortunate that in the US we are given a 1- yard lee-way from the spot that the ball left the field of play crossing over the touchline in the air or on the ground. In the rest of the world, they must throw it in where that ball left the field of play. Law 15 fully supports his decision to award the throw in to the opposing team if, in his opinion, the ball was improperly thrown in by the original team.



Read other questions answered by Referee Debbie Hoelscher

View Referee Debbie Hoelscher profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

the 2 meter rule has nothing to do with where the throw takes place. the Law tells us the throw must come from the spot that the ball left the filed of play. It is customary to allow a yard or so. The 2 meter rule applies to where opponents have to be on the taking of a throw-in. That is to say; all opponents must be at least 2 meters from the thrower.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16926
Read other Q & A regarding Law 15 - Throw In

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>