- Soccer Referee Resources
- Home
- Ask a Question
- Articles
- Recent Questions
- Search
- You-Call-It
- Previous You-Call-It's
-
VAR (Video Assistant Referee)
- Q&A Quick Search
- The Field of Play
- The Ball
- The Players
- The Players Equipment
- The Referee
- The Other Match Officials
- The Duration of the Match
- The Start and Restart of Play
- The Ball In and Out of Play
- Determining the Outcome of a Match
- Offside
- Fouls and Misconduct
- Free Kicks
- Penalty kick
- Throw In
- Goal Kick
- Corner Kick
- Common Sense
- Kicks - Penalty Mark
- The Technical Area
- The Fourth Official
- Pre-Game
- Fitness
- Mechanics
- Attitude and Control
- League Specific
- High School
- Common Acronyms
- Meet The Ref
- Advertise
- Contact AskTheRef
- Help Wanted
- About AskTheRef
- Panel Login
|
Question Number: 16927Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/27/2007RE: premire High School val of seattle, WA usa asks...if team A commits a foul and is awarded a free kick. players from both team A and team B are getting up from the original foul. during this time another player from team A kicks the team B player in the neck and is sent off with a red card. Who now gets the ball? does team A retain the free kick? or is the free kick now awarded to team B for the Red card? Answer provided by Referee Gary Voshol I assume in your first sentence you meant that a player on team A was fouled. Else B would get the free kick.
The player from A committed misconduct while the ball was out of play. After he is sent off and shown the red card, play is restarted in accordance with the reason it was stopped - the original foul. Free kick to A.
I've verbalized this to players before. Indicating the player from B, I said, "You committed the foul." Then turned to the other player from A and said, "And you get the caution for retaliation." Now someone from each team knows why the caution was given, and the reason for the direction of the restart.
Read other questions answered by Referee Gary Voshol
View Referee Gary Voshol profileAnswer provided by Referee Keith Contarino The kicking and send off occurred while the ball was out of play so the restart is the original restart for which play was initially stopped.
Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino
View Referee Keith Contarino profileAnswer provided by Referee Chuck Fleischer The original offense sets the restart. Subsequent misconduct does not alter the restart. What I wonder is where was the referee when these two guys started with their handbags, what ever happened to being at the point of a hard challenge just in case?
Regards,
Read other questions answered by Referee Chuck Fleischer
View Referee Chuck Fleischer profileAnswer provided by Referee Ben Mueller The general rule of thumb is that once a restart has been established that restart must occur. The red carded player's team will still get the kick as the other team was penalized first. The first offense was a foul and then the next was misconduct because the ball was not in play at the time.
Read other questions answered by Referee Ben Mueller
View Referee Ben Mueller profile- Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16927
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct
-
|
- Soccer Referee Extras
-
This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar
e welcomed! <>
|