Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16938

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/27/2007

RE: rec Under 16

Sam Haynes of Eastaboga, AL USA asks...

The attacing team kicks the ball and the goalie makes the stop by jumping and landing on the ground. The goalie stands up with the ball in hand and places it on the ground in front of him. As the attacking team approaches, he picks up the ball. Is he then guilty of handling the ball, with the attacking team given an indirect free kick, or is he in his right to pick the ball up again?

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

This sounds to me as if he had control of the ball then relinquished it. Now, he cannot handle the ball again. However, he did handle it. This is an offence punishable by an IFK for the opponents at the spot of the infraction unless it was inside the goal area in which case it comes out to the six yard line



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Sam,
I concur with my colleague Ref Contarino it appears that the keeper had 100% clear ball possession and for some reason decided to release it back into play prior to the 6 seconds when he could have made his way to the top of the 18 yard penalty area and punted or thrown the ball out to a team mate.
The use of hands on the ball again is a INDFK violation as stated in law 12
"? touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released
from his possession and has not touched any other player

Law 8 "Special Circumstances
"An indirect free kick awarded to the attacking team in its opponents? goal area is taken from the goal area line parallel to the goal line at the point nearest to where the infringement occurred."
Cheers



Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16938
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>