Soccer Referee Resources
Home
Ask a Question
Articles
Recent Questions
Search

You-Call-It
Previous You-Call-It's

VAR (Video Assistant Referee)

Q&A Quick Search
The Field of Play
The Ball
The Players
The Players Equipment
The Referee
The Other Match Officials
The Duration of the Match
The Start and Restart of Play
The Ball In and Out of Play
Determining the Outcome of a Match
Offside
Fouls and Misconduct
Free Kicks
Penalty kick
Throw In
Goal Kick
Corner Kick


Common Sense
Kicks - Penalty Mark
The Technical Area
The Fourth Official
Pre-Game
Fitness
Mechanics
Attitude and Control
League Specific
High School


Common Acronyms
Meet The Ref
Advertise
Contact AskTheRef
Help Wanted
About AskTheRef


Panel Login

Question Number: 16976

Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct 9/29/2007

RE: Rec Under 11

Stephen Canfield of Wichita, KS USA asks...

Can the goalie dribble the ball out the the box, dribble it back in the box and pick it up?

Answer provided by Referee Richard Dawson

Hi Stephen,
no offence but man is this question asked a lot! I do hope referee instructions and league seminars where coaches and players and parents and referees get together to discuss the basics of the game can address this in a more informative basis than current instruction provides.

Law 12 has 4 illegal handling restrictions that ONLY a keeper can be found guilty of. Dribbling the ball in and out of his own area is NOT one of them. As you know the keeper has the special priviledge of the use of his hands on the ball within his area. Other than that he is JUST a player! A player can drible the ball in and out as well but because he cannot use his hands we can understand the DFK/ PK penal foul of *handles the ball deliberately* as applying.


Read the restrictions where an INDFK could occur (I stated them below) and you will understand it is how the keeper comes to be in control of that ball which COULD affect his special use of the hands (the bottom two points are most likely to apply to your stated question)

Indirect Free Kick
An indirect free kick is awarded to the opposing team if a goalkeeper, inside his own penalty area, commits any of the following four offences:

-takes more than six seconds while controlling the ball with his hands before releasing it from his possession

-touches the ball again with his hands after it has been released from his possession and has not touched any other player

-touches the ball with his hands after it has been deliberately kicked to him by a team-mate

-touches the ball with his hands after he has received it directly from a throw-in taken by a team-mate.
Cheers




Read other questions answered by Referee Richard Dawson

View Referee Richard Dawson profile

Answer provided by Referee Keith Contarino

We sure are getting this question a lot!!! If the keeper could legally handle the ball inside his penalty area, then he is free to dribble outside his penalty area, dribble back inside, and then handle the ball. If the ball had been thrown in directly to him by a teammate or had the ball been deliberately kicked to him by a teammate then he would not have been allowed to pick it up with his hands inside his own penalty area. If he could not have done this before he left the penalty area, he could not do it after leaving and subsequently re-entering his penalty area. If he had initially received the ball in any other manner, then he would be free to dribble out of and back into his penalty area and then pick the ball up with his hands. At that point, he has six seconds before he has to give up control of the ball. Once he has, he may not handle the ball again before it touches another player.



Read other questions answered by Referee Keith Contarino

View Referee Keith Contarino profile

Ask a Follow Up Question to Q# 16976
Read other Q & A regarding Law 12 - Fouls and Misconduct

Soccer Referee Extras

Did you Ask the Ref? Find your answer here.


Enter Question Number

If you received a response regarding a submitted question enter your question number above to find the answer




Offside Question?

Offside Explained by Chuck Fleischer & Richard Dawson, Former & Current Editor of AskTheRef


This web site and the answers to these questions are not sanctioned by or affiliated with any governing body of soccer. The free opinions expressed on this site should not be considered official interpretations of the Laws of the Game and are merely opinions of AskTheRef and our panel members. If you need an official ruling you should contact your state or local representative through your club or league. On AskTheRef your questions are answered by a panel of licensed referees. See Meet The Ref for details about our panel members. While there is no charge for asking the questions, donation to maintain the site ar

e welcomed! <>